RSS

Yay! For Dollar Store Soldering Irons!

11 Jan

Fixed the jack in my mp3 player!  But even better, I didn’t electrocute myself in the process!  Um.  I probably shouldn’t be doing things I don’t know how to do…  Especially if it involves dollar store soldering irons…

But, if you don’t hear from me again, I might have run into some, um… complications… in trying to install a new automatic window motor in my car…  There shouldn’t be any physical danger in that, right?  (Did I mention I don’t know what I’m doing???)  Oh…  No danger…  Only perhaps the very possible danger of making things worse and having to pay quadruple of what I think I’m saving in this DIY project!  But it’s really not about how much I save (oh, but it is), but it’s more about the satisfaction of fixing something myself and learning something new in the process.  Even if it costs you more…  But hey, it’s often an excuse – a very good excuse! – to buy a new tool of some sort!

I just hope the car parts sales rep didn’t know what he was talking about when he said the window motor I ordered wouldn’t work in my car…  Ha…  Perhaps I’m arrogant in thinking I might know more than he does…  Well, I know that I am…  I’m waiting for the part to arrive now…  Heheheh… And just to be on the safe side…  I’ll take it home to Houston to install…  Just in case something…  Uh… Happens…  Uh…  Right…  I just hope I’m right and he’s wrong…  What I should have done was call the parts manufacturer directly.  Oh well.  Hindsight.  But seriously!  If it works in a Corolla CE, shouldn’t it work in a Corolla LE???  I think I should be safe.  I think.  But you know what they say about people who assume…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on Friday, January 11, 2008 in Car, DIY, Random

 

Leave a Reply

 
